Khalifa Award of Education

Awarding Committee

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Awarding Committee



The United Arab Emirates has contributed a unique model for providing world-class early education and childhood care since the country’s Founding Father, the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan, assumed office. Sheikh Zayed was a kind father who adored children and extended his full support towards excellence in every aspect of childhood care and early education.

The pioneering role of accelerating the wheel of innovation in early education is currently assumed by Her Highness Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Al Ketbi, Chair of the UAE’s General Women’s Union, President of the Supreme Council for Motherhood and Childhood, Supreme Chairperson of the Family Development Foundation, and the Mother of the Nation. As an inspirational advocate of every positive aspect of childhood, Her Highness has helped launch significant initiatives for advancing the best possible care for children from the earliest age, both in the UAE and around the world.
The UAE’s wise leadership has provided an environment conducive to motivating childhood development. The launching of The Khalifa International Award for Early Learning derives from the noble directives of His Highness Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Presidential Court, and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Khalifa Award for Education. This new initiative will encourage innovation in all the relevant elements that contribute to a healthy early years education worldwide.

The launching of the Khalifa International Award for Early Learning by its prestigious parent, the Khalifa Award for Education, represents a vital addition to the remarkable advance of the latter, which was established in 2007. Internationally renowned, the Khalifa Award for Education is a leading initiative in the educational and academic fields within the UAE and throughout the entire Arab world.
Khalifa International Award for Early Learning will certainly add unique achievements to build a comprehensive foundation to provide a healthy childhood throughout the earliest stages, everywhere around the globe.


Dr. W. Steven Barnett

Chairman of the Awarding Committee

Dr. Iram Siraj

Member of the Awarding Committee

Dr. Jana Fleming

Member of the Awarding Committee

Dr. Nirmala Rao

Member of the Awarding Committee

Mrs. Fatima Al Bastaki

Member of the Awarding Committee

Scroll to Top